I was at a friend’s house the other day when her 3 year old daughter bumped into me.  “Excuse me”, she said.  I immediately thought to myself, “Would my 3 year old say that?”  Honestly, I’m not really sure.  It seems like we work on manners a lot, but it takes them a long time to “get it”.  I found an article on the top 25 manners every kid should know before the age of nine.  It’s a great reminder for parents and au pairs to make sure their charges know these basic rules.  Because everyone loves a polite child!

1.  Say please.

2.  Say thank you.

3.  Do not interrupt grownups who are speaking to each other unless it’s an emergency.

4. Say “excuse me” if you want to enter a conversation.

5.  When in doubt, ask permission.

6.  The world is not interested in what you dislike.  Keep negative opinions to yourself.

7.  Do not comment on others’ physical characteristics unless it’s a compliment.

8.  When people ask you how you are, tell them and then ask them how they are.

9.  After playing at a friend’s house, tell the parents thank you.

10.  Knock on closed doors before entering.

11. When making a phone call, introduce yourself first and then ask to speak with the person you are calling.

12.  Say thank you for gifts received.

13.  Never use foul language in front of adults.

14.  Don’t call people mean names.

15.  Don’t make fun of others.

16.  Even if a play or assembly is boring, sit quietly and act interested.

17.  If you bump into someone, say “excuse me”.

18.  Cover your mouth when you cough or sneeze and don’t pick your nose in public.

19.  Hold the door open for people behind you.

20.  If you come across an adult working on something, ask if you can help.

21.  When an adult asks you for a favor, do it without grumbling.

22.  When someone helps you, say thank you.

23.  Use eating utensils properly.

24. Keep a napkin on your lap and use it to wipe your mouth.

25.  Don’t reach for things at the table.  Ask to have them passed.

